Rapportive: the Oracle of Plugins

Rapportive is my absolute favorite plug-in; it makes me feel like Batman from inside my email, totally certain that I’m a few steps ahead (even though at this point everyone I email probably also has it).  I’m excited that they’re celebrating being acquired by LinkedIn, and I just want to highlight one idea from the announcement that I think is relevant to anyone working with information technology:

When we founded Rapportive, we had one simple belief: we would build software that you don’t have to remember to use. Our software would be an intrinsic part of the tools you use every day. It would be there when you want it, and out of the way when you don’t.

This definitely echoes the librarian sentiment of meeting users where they are.  It feels especially relevant to me in working to make our link resolvers and our catalog (secondary, at this point, to the link resolvers) to try and create a seamless experience for our users. Not even close right now, but you have to shoot for something.

Leave a Reply

